Request for Expressions of Interest
Charles River Speedway Headquarters Building
Responses due: January 11, 2013 by 2 pm
Open House: December 1, 2012, 10am-2pm (please RSVP)
The Department of Conservation and Recreation’s (DCR) Historic Curatorship Program is seeking outside parties interested in the opportunity to rehabilitate, reuse and maintain the 1899 Charles River Reservation Speedway Administration Building. Through DCR’s Historic Curatorship Program, outside parties rehabilitate and maintain a historic property in return for a long-term lease. This is a unique opportunity to write the next chapter in the long and rich history of this significant treasure.
DCR is not calling for formal proposals at this time, but is issuing a Request for Expressions of Interest (RFEI) to present the property and program to the general public, gauge general interest in the potential opportunity and collect information to guide the development of a formal Request for Proposals. Responses to the RFEI should briefly describe the respondent’s proposed reuse concept, experience and feasibility plan. Respondents will be added to the mailing list in anticipation of the release of a formal Request for Proposals.
A Revitalization Study has been prepared for the property provides information for respondents to this request describing the building’s context, background, history and condition as well as planning considerations and information on the Historic Curatorship Program.
Both the RFEI and Study are located at the Historic Curatorship Program’s website: mass.gov/dcr/stewardship/curator. To request hard copies of the documents, send an e-mail to
or write to Historic Curatorship Program
Department of Conservation and Recreation
7th floor, 251 Causeway St., Boston, MA 02114.
Responses to the RFP are due January 11, 2013 by 2 p.m. An open house will give respondents the opportunity to view the property, and is scheduled for Saturday, December 1, 2012 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Parties interested in attending the open house should contact HCP.Requests@state.ma.us.
Built in 1899, the Speedway building is a living reminder of the origins of America’s urban park movement. The eclectic, sprawling Shingle-style complex was designed by renowned Charles Austin and embraced Charles Eliot’s vision for the Metropolitan Park System by creating a headquarters that projected dignity and permanence. The building was built to serve the adjacent Speedway - a harness track and pedestrian promenade – and adapted over the decades to evolving park-related functions while retaining its original architectural integrity.
Keywords: curatorship, Boston, Speedway, Shingle, lease
Posted: November 20, 2012
Unless noted, the thoughts and opinions expressed in the article are solely that of the
author and not necessarily the opinion of the editors of PreservationDirectory.com.